Review of Gray Shadows Under a Harvest Moon: Six Trick-or-Treat Thrillers by Roma Gray


Publication Date: March 8, 2015


The path into darkness begins here... 
How often have you read a short story and wished you could see what happened after the big ending? In this book, the ending is just the beginning as each short story represents a chapter in an upcoming Roma Gray novel or novel series. 
SECTION 1: A collection of six Halloween-flavored short stories. The stories are a mixed assortment of spooky, action adventure, and horror tales. 
SECTION 2: Interviews with the fictional characters giving the reader the inside scoop on their upcoming novels. 
Never let the adventure end... 
1. FEAST ON FAT TUESDAY: At Mardi Gras, a vampire realizes he has become the prey. 
2. AND THEN EVERYTHING CHANGED: The discovery of Atlantis changes the world in ways no one could have ever anticipated...or wanted. 
3. SUMMER VACATION: A teenager discovers that not only is black magic real, it’s also very unpredictable. 
4. THE INVISIBLE CARRIER: A deadly plague is spreading through the Pacific Northwest, but no one can figure out how. It might just be the truth is too strange to believe. 
5. UNNATURAL DISASTERS: Governments are isolating disaster sites from the rest of the world. What are they trying to hide? 
6. WILL THE REAL MONSTER PLEASE STAND UP? A rampaging mummy, two insane cats, and a secret government agency. For archeologist Alistair Black, it’s turning into a very strange night.


Do you remember the TV shows: Tales from the Darkside or Creepshow; the Night Gallery or even the Twilight Zone? Then this is the book for you!  I have always loved horror anthologies and reading the stories written by Roma Gray in Gray Shadows Under a Harvest Moon: Six Trick-or-Treat Thrillers was a blast. Six very unique and compelling stories, some had a classic theme with a modern twist, and others, well, you’ll have to read them for yourself (no spoilers here, sorry). Is it right to compare horror tales I loved watching as a kid to stories I’ve read as an adult—well, I can’t help it. Roma Gray’s writing was so vivid that I could see them play out in my mind as if I was watching them. They were a real treat. (See what I did there?) And it gets better! Each of the stories, which can definitely stand on their own, are really the first chapter of their own upcoming books. I look forward to reading the complete books to find out where the characters of these stories go from here.  It should be very interesting and fun.

Rating: 5 / 5 Stars.

© Keith Ferrario 20142023